A Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown

cake

A friend of mine recommended this memoir, A Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown, and I’m so glad she did.  I’m not sure I would have ever come across it otherwise.  When I realized that the audiobook was narrated by Bahni Turpin, one of my favorite narrators, I started listening right away.  At 21 hours and 8 minutes long, it’s the longest audiobook I’ve ever listened to and it took about a month for me to finish it.

Cupcake Brown’s memoir is so honest, inspiring and moving.  She begins her story when, at age 11, she finds her mother dead at home one morning.  At that point her life becomes filled with foster homes, abuse, drugs, gangs and homelessness.  I could not believe all the things she went through at such a young age and I found myself in tears more than once while listening to this.  The story of how she overcame all of the hardships she faced to become the successful woman she is today is truly amazing and inspiring. I loved this book and definitely recommend the audiobook.

Leave a Reply

