Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson

piecing me together

I mentioned in a previous post that I recently joined Modern Mrs. Darcy’s online book club.  I’m enjoying it immensely and was excited to begin reading the next selection, Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson.  This book was just published in February of this year so if you aren’t familiar with it, maybe that’s why.  It’s a young adult book and I’m not sure I would have picked it up to read if it hadn’t been a book club selection.  I don’t shy away from young adult books, but for some reason I seem to read them only after I receive a recommendation from a fellow reader. Anyway, this book is wonderful. It’s a quick read; I read it in 2 days, but you could probably finish it an an afternoon if you’re lucky enough to have a couple hours of uninterrupted reading time.

The story revolves around a black teenager named Jade who lives in a poor neighborhood in Portland, Oregon.  She’s a talented collage artist and a hard-working student who receives a scholarship to attend a mostly-white private school.  I really don’t want to describe a lot of the plot because you can easily find a summary elsewhere,  but I want to tell you that this story explores so many issues…friendship, race, class, using art to express feelings, privilege, fear and courage.  I actually feel like I need to go through and read it again. It’s that good.  I might write more about this book in a later post, but for now I just wanted to get this book on your radar screen. Happy reading!

Save

Leave a Reply

