Yellow Crocus by Laila Ibrahim

yellow crocus

I’m a big fan of Anne Bogel’s Modern Mrs. Darcy’s blog.  Last year she started a fabulous podcast called “What Should I Read Next?” that’s become something I look forward to listening to each week.  In fact, I began listening when she first started the podcast and I haven’t missed a single episode! I enjoy it that much.  In each episode, her featured guest talks about 3 books (s)he loves, 1 book (s)he hates and what (s)he is currently reading.  Based on that information, Anne suggests 3 book titles that that reader would enjoy.  It’s a great podcast that I’m always recommending to my reader friends, so you should check it out.

Anyway, the reason I’m mentioning that podcast is because Anne is so good at figuring out the type of story, or qualities of stories, to which each guest is drawn.  She often finds a common thread between the three books the guest loves.  For example, one reader might be drawn to books that involve deep, complex relationships. Another guest might enjoy plot-heavy books. Another might only like books that are written really well, with beautiful language.  Everyone has different taste.  So I’m always thinking about what 3 books I would choose as my favorites of all time and what it is about them that would make them my favorites.

This book, Yellow Crocus by Laila Ibrahim, would be right up there with my favorite books.  We’re only 4 months into 2017, but I’m quite sure this book will be on my year-end top ten list of books read.  I listened to the audiobook narrated by Bahni Turpin and it was SO GOOD! I feel like I have to rave about Bahni Turpin as much as the story.  I enjoyed her narration so much I’m listening to another book narrated by her right now.

The historical novel takes place in antebellum Virginia.  Lisbeth Wainwright is born to white plantation owners but she is raised by her wet nurse, Mattie, who is a slave on her family’s plantation.  Lisbeth is heavily influenced by Mattie and as she grows up she struggles to figure out her place in the world.  It is a beautiful story about the relationship between Mattie and Lisbeth, and about love, loss and freedom.  Again, I can’t say enough about Bahni Turpin, the narrator. I absolutely loved listening to this story.

So I find myself asking the question…what is it about this book that would make it one of my favorites?  I’m afraid to say I haven’t been able to figure that out well enough to summarize it in a sentence like Anne Bogel would be able to do.  But I do know that I’m a huge fan of historical fiction.  I also seem to enjoy stories about people overcoming struggle and stories that explore deep and complex relationships between people.  Stories that make me think about deeper issues.  This book has all of that, so it’s no wonder why it ranks high on my list.  If you enjoy books like that too, definitely check out the audiobook version of Yellow Crocus.  I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.  Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

