Early Autumn: A Story of a Lady by Louis Bromfield

early autumn

Early Autumn: A Story of a Lady by Louis Bromfield tells the story of the very wealthy Pentland family that is settled in New England and what happens when a member of their family, Sabine Callendar, returns to town after a long absence. Sabine grew up in the Pentland family, conforming to all of their rigid rules regarding proper social behavior, but she fled in her mid-20s. Now she has returned with an 18 year old daughter and a strong independent spirit that defies Pentland tradition. Her arrival shakes things up, especially the life of Olivia Pentland who married into the family and is approaching her 4oth birthday.

Although I felt that the beginning of the book was a tad slow, it soon grabbed my interest completely and I couldn’t put it down. I really like Bromfield’s writing style and his insights into his characters are simply brilliant. Even though this story was written 90 years ago, I feel like it is just as relevant today.

If you’ve been following my blog, you may know that I’m participating in a Back to the Classics Challenge for 2017 which you can read more about here.  Bromfield won a Pulitzer Prize in 1927 for Early Autumn, so I’m counting this book as my award-winning classic for that challenge.  I really loved this book and expect to re-read it in the future. I was so impressed by Bromfield’s writing and insights into people, I really must read more by him.  The Rains Came sounds great to me because I enjoy reading novels that take place in India.  Happy reading!
One thought on “Early Autumn: A Story of a Lady by Louis Bromfield

Leave a Reply

