A Fatal Grace by Louise Penny

fatal-grace

Do you love a good mystery?  For one reason or another, mysteries have never really been my go-to genre.  I do sprinkle them into my reading life here and there, but I think I’ve finally discovered a mystery series on which I might start to binge! I started reading Louise Penny’s Inspector Armand Gamache series of mysteries last summer with her first book, Still Life.  That mystery took place in a cozy little Canadian town in Quebec called Three Pines.  A Fatal Grace, the second book in the series, also takes place in that same town.  Perhaps the entire series takes place there.  I’m not sure, but I hope so because it is the coziest little tucked away place with its bed and breakfast, comfort foods, small bookstore, fireplaces, antiques and colorful cast of characters. Penny describes this place so well, and it really is the coziest place ever…I want to live there!

I read a paperback copy of Still Life and although I enjoyed the story itself, I enjoyed the experience of listening to the audiobook version of A Fatal Grace so much more.  It really pulled me into the story.  Therefore, I think I’m going to continue listening to, rather than reading, the rest of this particular series.  A Fatal Grace takes place in the winter during Christmas.  CC de Poitiers is not well-liked by anyone…her daughter, her lover, her husband or anyone in Three Pines…and when she is murdered, Inspector Armand Gamache is called in to solve the case.  Loved this book.  Can’t wait to start the next one!

Leave a Reply

