Endurance: Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage by Alfred Lansing

endurance

I’ve always enjoyed hearing stories about people who endure some great adversity, something that doesn’t seem possible to survive, and live to tell about it.  Endurance: Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage by Alfred Lansing is one of those stories.  It tells the story of explorer Ernest Shackleton who, in 1914, set sail from England with a crew of men to Antarctica in a ship named Endurance.  Their plan was to be the first crew to trek across Antarctica through the South Pole and reach the other side of the continent.  However, the Endurance became stuck in the ice before they reached the coast of the continent and they had to abandon their sinking ship.  Thus began one of the most amazing survival stories I have ever heard as Shackleton and his crew endured unimaginable hardships in order to stay alive.  Shackleton’s leadership and his crew’s resourcefulness and teamwork are truly inspiring.  If you enjoy adventure survival stories you will love this book.

I listened to the audiobook version of this story read by Simon Prebble.  It was fantastic. The actual book does have actual photographs that were taken during the voyage, so if you listen to the audio you won’t see the pictures.  That didn’t bother me because the narration was so great.  Several years ago I watched a film about Shackleton and I was thoroughly entranced by the story.  In fact, I think I’m going to watch that again with my family. My boys will love it.  Happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

