Present Over Perfect: Leaving Behind Frantic for a Simpler, More Soulful Way of Living by Shauna Niequist

present-over-perfect

It seems to be a pattern in my life that every January, after getting through the stresses of December, I feel a strong need to press the reset button on my life and get back to the basics.  Am I doing what I need to be doing to live my best life and to help my family members live their best lives? Am I exercising enough? Am I eating healthy? Am I happy?  Part of that process almost always includes reading books that inspire me and help me to answer those questions.

Present Over Perfect: Leaving Behind Frantic for a Simpler, More Soulful Way of Living by Shauna Niequist was recommended to me by a fellow blogger and I enjoyed it quite a bit.  I didn’t realize until I started reading that it’s a faith-based inspirational book meant for a Christian audience.  Depending on your spiritual and religious preferences that information might pique your interest in this book or turn you off completely.  If Christian inspirational books are not your thing, but the title sounds intriguing to you, you might want to give it a try anyway.  I was still able to get a lot of really good insights from this book.

Niequist’s message is that a lot of us are so busy doing a million things, living stressful frantic lives, that we forget who we are and what we should be doing.  A lot of the time we become addicted to busyness, or eating, or social media, or other things and as a result we don’t face reality and realize that our relationships are crumbling or that we have lost our souls in the craziness of our lives.  She recommends slowing down and simplifying life in order to figure out what it is that we love and need in our lives and to make more meaningful connections with others.  I was inspired by her advice to slow down and live a simpler life.  Who doesn’t need to be reminded of that every now and then? Happy reading!

Save

3 thoughts on “Present Over Perfect: Leaving Behind Frantic for a Simpler, More Soulful Way of Living by Shauna Niequist

    1. If you do read this book, I’d love to hear your thoughts about it. I know what you mean about having a long to-read list. Mine seems to grow by 2 or 3 books every day. Lol! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

