The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

woman-cabin-10

I feel like every now and then I stumble upon a gem of a book that is so wonderful I can’t stop thinking about it and I feel like I have to tell everyone about it.  In between those really amazing sometimes life-changing books, I read a lot of other good books.  They don’t seem extra special to me, but I enjoy them and I would recommend them to others even though they’re not my favorites.  Often there’s something I don’t like about a book but I can almost always find some good in it.  Anyway, these carry me through my reading life until I stumble upon another gem.  Or until I read something I just don’t like…a book that, for me, just doesn’t have anything good in it.

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware is one of those books for me.  I just did not like it.  I must admit, though, that I’m starting to think I’m not a big fan of “thrillers” in general.  I read Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris last fall and although I thought it was a much better book than The Woman in Cabin 10, it wasn’t a favorite of mine.  Both books have fairly high ratings on Amazon and Goodreads, and The Woman in Cabin 10 came in 3rd place for best Mystery/Thriller in Goodreads’ recent 2016 Choice Awards.  So clearly there are a lot of people who like this book.

That said, I can’t think of anything that I liked about it except the relief I felt when I reached the last page. Maybe I should have stopped reading halfway through, but it was a fairly quick read so I thought I’d see it through to the end.

From the very beginning of the story, nothing that happened seemed believable to me so I wasn’t drawn into it. I felt like an outsider looking in on something very ridiculous. The characters were not well developed in my opinion; I didn’t connect in any way to any of them and I didn’t like or feel sympathy for the main character, Lo. I also felt like there was too much emphasis on alcohol consumption and I tired of reading about how much she was drinking.

This just wasn’t a good reading experience for me.  I’ve heard good things about Ware’s first book, In a Dark, Dark Wood and I’m willing to try reading that one, but it may be that I just don’t care for this author’s writing style.  Looking on the bright side, I do believe that sometimes it’s really good to read something we don’t like. It makes us appreciate those gems even more. Happy reading!

Save

One thought on “The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

  1. I’ve read a number of reviews with opinions similar to yours – my interest was initially piqued from the marketing hype, but I think I’ll skip it – there are so many other great books out there. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

