52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You by Brett Blumenthal

51bsakwlfil-_sy498_bo1204203200_

Happy New Year everyone! Although I took a bit break from this blog during the holidays, but I did read quite a bit.  I’m in the middle of a fantastic sci-fi trilogy that I’ll be posting about soon. Anyway, there’s a great book by Brett Blumenthal called 52 Small Changes: One Year to a Happier, Healthier You.  Over the years I’ve noticed that when I try to make positive changes in my life, I tend to try to do too much at once.  I always seem to think I’ll be able to change everything in one day and maintain those changes forever. It never works for me and I always end up feeling overwhelmed and sort of depressed about yet another failed attempt to live a perfectly healthy life.

So when I discovered Blumenthal’s book last spring it seemed like the perfect solution for me and anyone else who wants to make positive life changes slowly over the course of a year.  Soon after I purchased the book, however, I traveled abroad for the summer and completely forgot about it until a month or two ago.  I decided I would start these small changes this week and see how it works for me over the course of 2017.

Each week, Blumenthal focuses on a new change you can make in your life.  The 52 changes fall into one of 4 categories: diet and nutrition, fitness and prevention, mental well-being, and green living.  Week one, for example, focuses on the diet/nutrition habit of drinking enough water each day. She provides lots of tips about how to accomplish this, such as infusing your water with fruits and vegetables to add variety to your water-drinking life.  So this week I’m all about increasing my water consumption. So far, so good. One habit at a time.

 

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

