2017 Reading Challenges

I always look forward to participating in Goodreads’ annual reading challenge. You set a goal for the number of books you want to read during that year and then you read like crazy to reach that goal. Not yet sure what my 2017 goal will be, but I love a good challenge.

classics_challenge

For 2017 I’m joining two additional challenges. It seems that I never get around to reading enough classics, so I found a challenge to help me…the Back to Classics Challenge 2017.  There are 12 categories and the more books you read, the more entries you get in a drawing at the end of the year. I’m so excited about this. Here are the categories for the challenge and the books I’m considering for each category:

  1. A 19th Century Classic: Walden by Henry David Thoreau – I’ve wanted to read this one for a long time.
  2. A 20th Century Classic: Kim by Rudyard Kipling – My brother bought this book for me for my birthday years ago and for some reason I never read it!
  3. A classic by a woman author: The 101 Dalmations by Dodie Smith – I loved Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle and I think I’m going to enjoy the audio version of this with my boys.
  4. A classic in translation: Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra – I know this is long and I’m not even sure I’m going to like the story, but for some reason I want to be able to say that I’ve read this book. I’m thinking of reading a little each day early in the mornings.
  5. A classic published before 1800: Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan – This is another one I’m not sure about, but it’s healthy to read things outside of our comfort zones. So I guess I chose this book to stretch my reading muscles.
  6. A romance classic: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen – I LOVED Pride and Prejudice and want to read more Austen for sure.
  7. A gothic or horror classic: Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier – This has been on my to-read list for a while. So excited about this one.
  8. A classic with a number in the title: The Nine Tailors by Dorothy Sayers – I don’t know anything about this book or the author, but I love a good mystery.
  9. A classic about an animal or which includes the name of an animal in the title: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Can you believe I’ve never read this?
  10. A classic set in a place you’d like to visit (real or imaginary): The Marvelous Land of Oz by L. Frank Baum – This is the second book in the Oz series. I’m in the middle of reading The Wonderful Wizard of Oz to my boys right now and we are enjoying it so much. We’ll definitely continue with this series.
  11. An award-winning classic: Early Autumn: A Story of a Lady by Louis Bromfield (Pulitzer Prize 1927)
  12. A Russian classic: War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – I like to read big books each year, so this is the one I’d love to read for 2017. Don Quixote is long too…hopefully I’ll get to both of them.

I also want to read a bunch of the books published in 2016 that won and/or were nominated for Goodreads Choice Awards. I wrote about the Goodreads Choice Award Book Club and the winners/nominees earlier this month. You can read about it here. I made a goal of reading 25 of these books.

I found this wonderfully long list of 2017 reading challenges.  If you’re interested in finding a challenge that’s just right for you, you should definitely check it out.  Happy reading!

Save

2 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenges

Leave a Reply

