Arrowood by Laura McHugh

arrowood

The great thing about book clubs, whether online or in person, is that they get us to read books we may have never heard about otherwise.  That’s the case with this book, Arrowood by Laura McHugh.  I had never heard of this author but it was a recent selection for an online book club.  I won’t say this was my favorite book of the year, but it was a great mystery that kept me in suspense until the very end.

The story revolves around Arden Arrowood, a young woman who inherits and returns to her childhood home in Iowa.  When she was eight years old her younger twin sisters vanished and the case was never solved.  She moved away from the house with her parents soon after that happened and the house was uninhabited for many years until Arden returns.  Of course, her return to the house makes her think even more about what might have happened to her sisters.  I can’t say too much more without giving something away.  The story definitely held my interest, and I kept changing my mind all throughout the book about who I thought was guilty of the crime, but I did not care for the ending.  If you’ve read this book, I would love to know what you thought of it.  I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery/thriller/suspense.  I’ve heard good things about McHugh’s first book, The Weight of Blood, so I’m adding that one to my to-read list. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

