Andrew Luck’s Book Club

I just learned about a great new book club that began last spring by Andrew Luck.  For those of you who don’t know, Luck is the Indianapolis Colts’ quarterback.  I’ve never been too much of a football fan, but during the years I lived in Indianapolis I enjoyed watching and supporting the Colts while Peyton Manning was their quarterback.  Four years ago Luck joined the Colts team and apparently he’s an avid reader and is sharing that love of reading with others with this book club.  Isn’t that fantastic? What a great way to inspire his young fans to read more.

You can check out his book club here.  Several times each year, Luck chooses a Rookie book for younger readers (books he loved as a child) and a Veteran book for older readers.  Since I have sons who love to read, I’m really excited to share Luck’s Rookie book selections with my boys.  The Veteran selections are great additions to my to-read list too, especially because I’ve been looking for books that my husband and I can read and discuss together.

The current Rookie book is The Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I’m not sure if my boys will jump at the chance to read this particular one, but I’ll encourage them.  The previous selections were Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli, Hatchet by Gary Paulsen, and The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis.

The current Veteran book is Papillon by Henri Charriere.  It’s the true story of a man who was convicted in Paris of a murder he did not commit in the 1930s and who eventually escapes from prison. I never heard of this book, but the story sounds fascinating.  The previous selections were The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown, The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel by Garth Stein, and The Martian by Andy Weir. I read The Martian and didn’t care for the book as much as the movie, but I’m definitely interested in reading the other two.

This seems like a fantastic book club for everyone…be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

