Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

index

I can’t say enough about this book.  I didn’t even know what it was about when I started reading it last week on my Kindle.  From the beginning to the end, I could not put this book down.  All I will tell you about the storyline is that it’s about a guy named Ted and his beloved dog, Lily.  Although I’m an animal lover with a special fondness for dogs, I think this book will appeal to anyone who has loved deeply or suffered a loss.  And that should cover most of us, shouldn’t it?

For me, this book brought up all sorts of memories of my dog and best friend, Jasper, with whom I spent all of my childhood years.  Just as Ted and Lily share a special bond, I had that same connection with Jasper.  When I was feeling sad we used to sit quietly together on the porch steps, when we were playful I used to give him rides around the yard in a wheelbarrow, and when we were tired we would lounge together on the floor.  I don’t know what I would have done without him during those years.

Lily and The Octopus is a deeply moving story that will make you remember those you love or those you have loved and lost.  This book had me in tears for an entire afternoon, and yet I want to read it again soon.  It’s that good.  I have heard that the audiobook version is excellent, so I think I’ll listen to that next.  I hope you check this one out and let me know what you think. Enjoy!

One thought on “Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

Leave a Reply

