First blog post

I think this might be the third time I’ve created a blog. My previous blogs were not focused on any particular topic and I can’t say that I kept up with them very well.  It’s difficult to admit one’s own lack of commitment to a thing, but I’m guessing that they lasted only a few months each.  Maybe life got in the way.  Maybe I was busy reading.

Of all the hobbies I’ve dabbled in over the years, reading is really the only one that I’ve kept close by my side day after day, year after year. No matter what’s going on in my life, it seems I’m reading a book.

I loved reading as a child.  I have such vivid memories of reading Berenstain Bears in the book aisle of the grocery store while my mom shopped, kneeling at the Nancy Drew bookshelf in the local library looking for titles I hadn’t yet read, and curling up under the covers in bed transfixed by stories like The Indian in the Cupboard, or The Secret Garden.

As an adult I’ve found that I still enjoy a really wide variety of genres…fiction, classics, historical fiction, non-fiction, science fiction and fantasy, to name a few.  I’ve recently started enjoying audiobooks as well.  There are so many wonderful books out there to read.

I am so grateful that my boys are avid readers as well.  I enjoy reading stories to them and they rarely fall asleep without reading first…curled up in their beds under the covers reading as I did as a child (and as I still do). I feel such joy when their faces light up with excitement as they tell me about the book they just can’t put down.

So I love to read, my kids love to read and my reading life is terrific. Almost. Very often I feel like I want to write about that great book I just read, or this fantastic audiobook I’m listening to in the car, or my boys’ current favorites, or the picture book we love so much we don’t want to return it to the library. For all of those reasons and more, I have decided to try to write this blog about the books on my bookshelf.  I hope you’ll join me as I review books, recommend my favorites, and talk all things books. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

